Sean Avery: What’s next?

Posted: August 5, 2011 by forever&staalways in New York Rangers
Tags: ,

A couple days ago, I went on a rant with my dad about a the New York Jets’ (my favorite football team) recent acquisition of wide receiver Plaxico Burress. I had two objections to his one year, three million dollar contract: 1) The three million dollars was guaranteed and 2) he was just released from an 18 month stay in jail on gun charges. I sat there and angrily told my dad, “I can never root for someone who’s a criminal!” I’ll continue to head-desk once I finish writing.

I first heard the news this morning during a sports radio show update, hearing simply that he was arrested at his California home early this morning. Upon further investigation, I found out that he was arrested for shoving a member of LAPD after a second trip to his home for noise complaints. He posted his $20,000 bail.

There should be an office pool started for what the league is going to do about Sean. He is a repeat offender with a rule subsection named after him. After the league’s response to his “sloppy seconds” (six game suspension in December, though he didn’t return to the NHL until March) there’s no telling what their disciplinary response will be. Ten games? Fifteen games? A fine? If only we could spin the wheel of justice to help solve this one.

There’s no telling what’s going to happen in the next chapter of Sean Avery’s career. There is one thing that is certain, though; the tattoo on his arm still speaks volumes about himself. You used to be alright. What happened?

Leave a Reply

