My 2011-12 Season Goals

Posted: October 11, 2011 by Realdeal in Arenas, College Hockey
Tags: , , , , , ,

Every year I make a bunch of hockey related goals and hope to accomplish them all.  Here are a few for this season.

Continue my countdown to see every team.  It may seem like bragging (not my intention) but I have seen a majority of the league’s teams. I still have 9 left (including Winnipeg as a seperate team than Atlanta).  I already have tickets to see the (new) Winnipeg Jets and Minnesota, so that will help pare down the list.  Unfortunately Calgary and Dallas do not come to Philadelphia, so those will have to wait or be seen in another city.

Along with seeing every team, eventually I’d like to see every single NHL arena. So far I’m at four (Ana, LA, NJ, Phi). Of course I won’t knock off the other 26 this season, but I’d like to cross a couple off of the list and keep working towards the bigger goal.  A couple months ago, I wrote about the top 5 arenas that I wanted to visit, but I want to see them all. Even Long Island.

Make a friend in every NHL city. Thanks to a forum I used to belong to, I met some great people from around the league and the world. Joining twitter also helped me meet a bunch of great hockey fans as well. Unfortunately, there are a still teams unrepresented. If I continue my arena tour, I’d like to be able to meet up with fans, and converse with them about their team throughout the season.

Thank you, Terry Pegula. We are!

Learn more about college hockey. I admit I really don’t follow much until the Frozen Four (and the pool I continually finish in last place). With my alma mater Penn State upgrading their program to Division I for next season, it’s a good time to stick my feet in.  I am hoping they play at Princeton, which is probably the closest they will be to Philadelphia, aside from the Icers outdoor game at Citizens Bank Park in January.  I also would like to make the trip to Atlantic City for the ECAC tournament.

Play more puck.  As I wrote in August, the summer is nice to be outside but most days it’s too hot to play.  Now, the weather has cooled down considerably and people have been hitting the pavement more.  I’d also like to start get on the ice again, as it’s been a few years since I’ve played at a rink (not including those shoot-arounds on the pond).  As I ice skated last weekend, it got me itching to go back, this time with a stick in my hand.

Hopefully I accomplish these goals, and work towards the bigger ones. Do you have any goals for this season?

Comments
  1. John Russo says:

    Seeing an orange-and-black-clad parade down Broad Street. That’s my goal every year

  2. Dan MacNeal says:

    Well, that’s not something I can control, heh

Leave a Reply

