Hockey Music

Posted: November 3, 2011 by goaliesgetmorebetches in Hockey Fun

Hockey and music – the two biggest pastimes for me. I became a hockey fan at age 9, right around the same time my older sisters (along with a little childhood rebellion) got me into rock and heavy metal music. In the spring of 1986, I watched Patrick Roy lead Montreal to a Stanley Cup and knew I wanted to play goalie. That same summer I heard Iron Maiden’s “Number of the Beast” and knew I wanted to play bass in a heavy metal band. Throughout my teenage years if you asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, the answer was simple: I wanted to be a professional hockey goalie, or I wanted to tour the world playing bass in a band, a dream I kept alive until my twenties came to an end. While I no longer aspire to do either professionally, I still love to play rock n’ roll music, and I still tend goal for a team in my local adult league; two things I will do as long as I’m physically capable of it.

For those of us who are fans, some songs are inexplicably linked with hockey. Whether it’s a goal song, a pre-game intro song, or the tune your favorite team has blasting on the PA system as they take the ice for the warmup; music – particularly rock n’ roll and hockey share a kinship, and lots of rockers and metal musicians also happen to be big hockey fans. I remember Rikki Rachtman, the original host of MTV’s Headbangers Ball way back in the 80’s, wearing a Detroit Red Wings jersey on the show and professing his love for the winged wheel. While Rachtman was co-hosting Loveline in LA, he was a Kings’ season ticket holder. Musicians such as Rob Zombie and two of the members of System of a Down hold season tickets at Staples Center. Five for Fighting mogul John Ondrasik grew up a Kings’ fan and still frequents Staples. While my experience is limited to LA, it’s a league-wide connection – rap star Lil’ Jon was an Atlanta Thrashers season ticket holder prior to the team’s departure, and Metallica’s James Hetfield is often seen in the stands at the HP Pavillion in San Jose, while Jon Bon Jovi has been sighted at the Prudential Center in New Jersey. Canadian legends The Tragically Hip are certified hockey nuts as well.

So what is it about rock n’ roll that compliments the sport of hockey so well? For me, it’s simple. Rock and heavy metal songs, especially those heard in NHL arenas are high-energy, with driving beats that get the blood pumping. It’s not hard to get pumped with AC/DC, or Metallica blaring over the arena’s speakers; and the fast, aggressive nature of the sport provides the perfect compliment for such a soundtrack. Funny enough, the song most often associated with hockey is probably Gary Glitter’s “Rock N’ Roll Part 2” – which seemed like it was nearly EVERY team’s goal song during the early 90s, and for good reason – it provides an easy sing along for the fans and is catchy enough to stay stuck in your head for hours at a time. It still stands as the goal song for at least one NHL team today.

All of this got me thinking, what would my top 10 hockey songs be. I’m allowing myself to go off the board a little bit here since I think some sound awesome at extreme volume at my team’s home venue aren’t likely to be played, but here goes, in no particular order. If you don’t recognize a song, I’d recommend opening another browser tab and looking them up on YouTube. Once your done reading my list, scroll down to the comments section and sound off with your top 10 hockey songs as well! Now without further ado…

1. AC/DC – Thunderstruck. The combination of drummer Chris Slade’s insistend ‘4 on the floor’ kick drum, Cliff William’s pumping bass line and Angus Young’s bouncing hammer-on guitar lick, plus  the fan friendly “THUNDAH!” chant make this song a firestarter. If this doesn’t get your blood pumping, you might wanna check your pulse!

2. Motley Crue – Kickstart My Heart. Great guitar riff, great lyrics and a chorus likely to prompt an “OH! YEAH!” sing-along from the fans.

3. Black Label Society – Crazy Horse. This is a bit newer, and not one likely to get air time at an arena, but I think it’s perfect for hockey – a great intro that builds into a nice heavy guitar riff and driving drums. Would make a perfect song to open warmups with, or to use as a pre-game intro.

4. Iron Maiden – The Trooper. A classic metal anthem about battle, Maiden’s twin guitar attack along with Steve Harris’ galloping bassline and the song’s frantic pace, as well as the songs’ sing-along chorus make this a perfect choice from perhaps the most influential band in the history of metal.

5. Metallica – Enter Sandman. Not much has to be said about this one, Enter Sandman might’ve been the beginning of the end of Metallica as a legitimate metal act, but this song will always get me PUMPED.

6. The Cult – Fire Woman. Great intro, smokin guitar riff and another sing-along worthy chorus make this one one of my favorites.

7. Van Halen – Unchained. One of the rockinest tunes from one of rock’s all-time greatest bands. Another good blood-pumper, ideal for the warmup.

8. Early Man – Fight. I’d wager not many readers here have heard this one, but maybe no other song on this list says “Prepare for battle!” like this one does. “All right, so you want to fight? My fists are sticks of dynamite. F**k you if you’re talking to me. My fuse blows quick like TNT!” Enough said!

9. Europe – The Final Countdown. Has there ever been a better anthem for the closing minutes of a game, while the home team fights for their lives to preserve victory? No? Didn’t think so.

10. Pantera – Mouth for War. Hard not to get pumped up listening to this one. Classic Dimebag riff, insistent drumming from Vinnie Paul and angsty vocals from Phil Anselmo are enough to prepare your grandma for war!

While compiling this I realized how difficult it was going to be. There’s a lot of worthy titles I’ve left off this list, so I’m interested to see what you guys have to say.

Fire away! Gimme your ten best hockey songs!

-J

Comments
  1. JoeyD says:

    Awww snap you listed my all time favorite song Fire Woman WOO!

  2. Dan MacNeal says:

    I don’t know if I can narrow to 10, but for me the intro to Rammstein’s Du Hast, mostly anything off of Metallica’s first four albums… Emigrate’s My World. I like Ministry’s Blackhawks song they did a few years back. Of course AC/DC has to be on the list.

    I’d switch Pantera songs and put Cowboys from Hell on there. There’s just so many good hockey type songs that I feel bad leaving some unmentioned.

Leave a Reply

